Close this search box.

Partner News

The Chemical Business Association celebrates 100 year anniversary awards

Written by...

Picture of Molly Cooper

Molly Cooper

Journalist at Tank Storage Magazine.

Voice of the UK chemical supply chain, The Chemical Business Association (CBA), has recently celebrated its 100th anniversary with the reinstatement of an annual awards dinner honouring members and their outstanding achievements.

The association, alongside members and invited guests, gathered on November 23rd – 100 years to the day, since the CBA’s was first registered as the British Chemical Distributors’ and Traders’ Association (BCDTA) in 1923.

Marking this significant milestone, the Association received a letter from King Charles III, which was read out by CBA’s Chief Executive, Tim Doggett.

A group of people on stageVIP’s from across the global chemical supply chain in attendance included FECC President, Lars Wallstein, as well as representatives from the Department for Business and Trade (DBT), the Department for Transport (DfT), the Trade Association Forum (TAF), and the Generation Logistics initiative. As well as many more.

At the event there was also a debut by the ‘Voice of the Chemical Supply Chain Choir’, with singers from member companies across the entire chemical supply chain led by past CBA Chair Kate Mingay.

Winners on the night included:

  • Responsible Care Award for Logistics Services Members – WH Bowker Ltd
  • Responsible Care Award for Distributors (Office Only) – Meade-King Robinson & Co. Ltd
  • Responsible Care Award for Distributors (with Operational Sites) – Multisol Group UK Ltd
  • Sustainability Award – Brenntag UK & Ireland
  • Highly commended – Univar Solutions UK Ltd
  • Wellbeing Award – Hanson Logistics Ltd
  • Community Engagement Award – H.W. Coates Ltd
  • Highly commended – Grace Overseas Ltd
  • Affiliate Member of the Year – Hibiscus PLC
  • Logistics Services Member of the Year – Hanson Logistics Ltd
  • Highly commended – W H Bowker Ltd
  • Distributor/Manufacturer Member of the Year – Holiferm Ltd
  • Highly commended – 2M Group
  • Made a Difference Award – Paul Smith of Brenntag UK & Ireland
  • Highly commended – Brian Killerby of Hibiscus PLC
  • Young Person Award – Vicky De Groof of Holiferm Ltd
  • Special mention – Alex Jamieson of Alcohols Ltd
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Joan Traynor of Azelis UK Ltd
  • Highly commended – Brian Killerby of Hibiscus PLC

Doggett says: ‘Our members, many of whom are SMEs, are the backbone of the chemical industry, one of the most important and diverse industries in the world, which is a vital thread that runs through society and the economy alike. Our membership provides us with a 360° vision of the chemical supply chain, allowing us to assess, support and respond to key industry issues. The immense achievements of our members in the last 12 months deserves not only to be acknowledged, but whole-heartedly celebrated.’

Share this article:

Partner news

a model of a molecule
All News

Adler & Allan Release Pollutants Whitepaper

Environmental advisory and engineering services provider Adler & Allan have released a new whitepaper entitled: Navigating Environmental Challenges: A Comprehensive Exploration of Business-Relevant Pollutants The company states: As companies strive

Read More