Close this search box.

Partner News

EEMUA recognises rising stars for 2023

Written by...

Picture of Cyann Fielding

Cyann Fielding

Journalist at Tank Storage Magazine.

EEMUA has announced that the winner of its Early Years Industry Award 2023 is Rana Abdalla, an electrical engineer at BP.

The award recognises the efforts of new starters within the engineering field in EEMUA member companies, demonstrating their communication skills, engineering application and leadership in their specific specialism.

The EEMUA Awards Committee were extremely impressed with Rana’s application, particularly her involvement and achievement in the Net Zero Teesside project, overcoming significant challenges to successfully conduct a Reliability, Availability and Maintenance (RAM) study that addresses failure faults and unavailability scenarios that relate to the power and electrical power distribution system. The Committee were impressed to see that Rana’s work will be used as an example of good practice in low carbon and renewable energy projects within BP’s global electrical forum.

On receiving the award, Rana says: ‘I am excited about the path ahead, and I am committed to making a positive impact. I am eager to continue learning, collaborating, and contributing to the growth and advancement of the new energy and low carbon industry.’

In recognition of the high quality of entries this year, a ‘runners-up’ prize was presented to Cameron Millar, a mechanical engineer at INEOS O&P UK. The judges were impressed with Cameron’s achievement in implementing a sustainable and cost-efficient methodology of inspecting buried pipework which ended up reducing the cost by over 70 percent. They commended Cameron’s knowledge, competence and leadership throughout this complex project, maintaining excellent communication with vendors as well as involving senior management where necessary. Also shortlisted for the award were Daniel Phillips of SSE, Hannah Mohsen of Solutia UK, and Heather Legan of BP.

EEMUA is also pleased to announce that the recipient of this year’s Stuart Turner Award is Huw Jones, Regional Electrical Engineering SME at Dow Silicones UK. Established to honour the memory of Stuart Turner, an enthusiastic advocate for all things EEMUA, the award recognises an employee of a member organisation who has made a significant contribution to the work EEMUA does.

Huw impressed the Awards Committee with his involvement in EEMUA activities and the invaluable contributions he has provided over many years. This has included being an active chair for the EEMUA Electrical Committee for 11 years and being involved as a working group member contributing to key projects, including revision of the leading guidance on potentially explosive atmospheres, EEMUA 186. Also shortlisted for the award were Katherine Asvegren of SSE and Matthijs Kock of Vopak.

The achievements of all the nominees and winners were celebrated at the EEMUA Awards Dinner held in Macclesfield on November 15.

Share this article:

Partner news

Partner News

Emerson Releases 2023 Sustainability Report

Global technology and software company Emerson has released its 2023 Sustainability Report today, highlighting the company’s efforts to make the world healthier, safer, smarter and more sustainable. The report highlights

Read More